Pingdom Home

US + international: +1-212-796-6890

SE + international: +46-21-480-0920

Business hours 3 am-11:30 am EST (Mon-Fri).

Do you know if your website is up right now? We do! LEARN MORE

Slashdot down for more than 5 hours

Slashdot logoFor more than five hours today the so-called Slashdot effect was completely absent on the internet. Why? Because Slashdot.org, the extremely popular technology news website that inspired Kevin Rose to create Digg, was according to our monitoring unavailable from 09:38 CET this morning (03:38 US EST) and only came back up a few minutes ago (14:48 CET, 08:48 US EST).

Sourceforge (Sourceforge.net), which owns Slashdot, was also unreachable.

The Register should have credit for reporting first on this (they even contacted us here at Pingdom for a quote).



Related content:

  1. Slashdot crashed Slashdot
0 comments

Trackbacks

  1. [...] popular site for monitoring uptime of websites and server, Pingdom confirmed that Slashdot was unavailable for around 5 hours from 09:38 CET (03:38 US EST) till 14:48 CET [...]

  2. [...] started reporting on this outage, as evidently seen from the reports published by The Register and Pingdom. The site has since been up and running already but not without invoking amusing, and insightful, [...]

  3. [...] CRN. There has been no official word on the cause for the downtime, but combined with the recent Slashdot downtime, tech readers are sure to be “fairly frazzled” at their online news [...]